Catching Katy

Reads, Eats, & Everything Else

#17. Drive-In

Leave a comment

This was my last cross-off before the end of my 30 before 30 list! Sure, it may have been one of the easiest things on the list, but it took some time and effort to actual plan and do haha. My friend and I headed to south Atlanta to check out the Starlight Drive-In Theater and I’d say we did it pretty darn well considering neither of us had been before. This is up there for one of my favorite things I did on my list.

We stopped at Fresh Market and picked up dinner (salads), snacks (pumpkin popcorn), dessert (giant cupcakes), and wine. I had no idea how crowded it would be – I know it’s a zoo in the summer – but the weather was cooler and it was a Friday night. So we were the second car there when we got there….but it gave us plenty of time to get settled. We set up a pretty sweet and comfy pallet in the back of my Jeep. The weather was perfect for this semi-outdoor outing. The audio was so-so (tuned through the radio) and there are lots of distractions – cars driving by, people turning their lights on and off – so I wouldn’t try this seeing a movie that requires close attention. But I thought it was way more enjoyable than sitting in a stiff movie theater.

I highly recommend this for a group outing (take multiple cars and park next to each other) or a date. They are open year-round so pack your blankets and get cozy!

Leave a comment